Virginia Tech®home

Transformational Leadership Programs

Transformational Leadership programs are organized around the belief that for change to be transformative, we must leverage our privilege for the benefit of all. Therefore, the work needs to include those who are typically not involved in diversity and inclusion conversations yet represent the "dominant leadership culture".

The programs are organized around the practices of:

Stepping Up—to do the personal work of critical self-reflection. 
Stepping Back—to listen to the lived experiences of those who have been historically marginalized in the academy, and to learn from research on inclusive practices.

Stepping Forward—to take back to their units the best practices for an inclusive academy.

The White Allies as Transformational Leaders (WATL) program is for academic department chairs and full professors.  The group meets monthly during the academic year and 

The Transformational Allyship for Inclusive Leadership (TRAIL) program is for administrators in supervisory or decision-making positions.

Name Role Senior Management Area
Kenneth Belcher Director of Facilities and Operations, Student Housing Division of Student Affairs
Leanna Blevins Assistant Vice President Health Sciences & Technology
Kristie Caddick Chief of Staff Advancement
Sandee Cheynet Associate Vice President Human Resources
Jeff Crowder Executive Director of Strategic Initiatives Division of Information Technology
Ali Cross Director of Recreational Sports Division of Student Affairs
William Dougherty Executive Director of Network Infrastructure and Services Division of Information Technology
Heather Ducote Senior Director of Marketing and Brand Management Communications and Marketing
Randy Fullhart Commandant Corps of Cadets
Bob Gavagan Executive Director of Marketing and Fan Development Athletics
Martha Glass  Assistant Vice President for Administration Division of Student Affairs
Jim Hillman Director of Finance Infrastructure and Facilities
Susan Hughes Senior Advisor to the VP Human Resources
Hal Irvin Associate Vice President Health Sciences & Technology
Lisa Lee Associate Vice President of Scholarly Integrity and Research Compliance Research and Innovation
Nancy Meacham Director of Administrative Operations Finance
Liza Morris Assistant Vice President for Planning and University Architect Infrastructure and Facilities
Anna LoMoscalo Co-Director Women's Center
Bernadette Lenahan Mondy Interim Assistant Vice President for Environmental Health and Safety Administrative and Business Services
Heidi Myers Executive Director of Real Estate Infrastructure and Facilities
James Perkins Chief of Staff Administrative and Business Services
Virginia Pannabecker Assistant Dean and Director, Research Collaboration and Engagement University Libraries
John Provo Director for the Center for Community and Economic Development Outreach and International Affairs
Christine Dennis Smith Co-Director Women's Center
John Torget Associate Vice President for Engagement Advancement
Jesse Tuel Senior Director and Executive Editor Communications and Marketing
Stacey U. Wilkerson Chief of Staff Office for Inclusion and Diversity

Agriculture and Life Sciences

  • Renee Boyer, Food Science and Technology

Arts, Architecture and Design

  • Jeff Loeffert, School of the Arts


  • Kevin Boyle, Real Estate


  • Ella Atkins, Aerospace and Ocean Engineering
  • Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics
  • Steven Wrenn, Chemical Engineering

Liberal Arts and Human Sciences

  • Nancy Bradley, School of Education
  • Jennifer Johnson, Sociology
  • Gerard Lawson, School of Education
  • John Tedesco, School of Communication
  • Pamela Teaster, Human Development

Natural Resources and Environment

  • Julia Allen, Dean’s Office
  • Bill Hopkins, Fisheries and Wildlife and Global Change Center
  • Brian Strahm, Forest Resources
  • Jason Holliday, Forest Resources
  • Chip Frazier, Sustainable Biomaterials


  • Eric de Stuyler, Mathematics
  • Michael Fox, School of Neuroscience
  • Robert Weiss, Geosciences and Academy of Integrated Sciences
  • Trish Hammer, Faculty Affairs and Graduate Studies, Dean’s Office

Veterinary Medicine

  • Sherrie Clark, Large Animal Clinical